All About Down Syndrome

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Life Expectancy March 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — fords09 @ 5:27 pm

I wanted to know how long individuals with Down syndrome live.  So I decided to check it out.  The facts I found where interesting and I decided to post it for all of my readers.

*

The life expectancy for individuals with Down syndrome varies.  Three-quarters of babies will die before birth (“Down syndrome life,” 2010).   I did not realize that so many babies with this disability die before birth.  This number is so huge.  I wonder if the number includes terminated pregnancies as well.

*

Fifteen percent of babies will die before their first birthday (“Down syndrome life,” 2010).  So even once the baby makes it through the pregnancy there is still a good chance that they can die.  I never realize that so many people with Down syndrome die early in life.

*

Thirty-five percent of individuals will die before the age of fifty (“Down syndrome life,” 2010).  This seems a little more reasonable.  I thought this was the average life expectancy for them.  It seems that some may die young because some individuals with Down syndrome have heart complications.

Life expectancy for the remaining fifty percent is over fifty years of age (“Down syndrome life,” 2010).  With more and more technology their life expectancy increases.  I know that more people with Down syndrome are living.  Yet, it still seems as though more die than live.  It is sad to see but I guess as more research is learned than more children with this disability will live.

*

There are a few reasons why children die at an early age.  The first reason is because of heart complications.  I never realized that they had so many heart problems.  Another reason is because of digestive problems.  The students that I work with have digestive issues.  The one has acid reflex.  The other child does not eat solid food.  That is because he is worried about choking.  There are other reasons why children with Down syndrome die early in life.

It has recently been found that more individuals with Down syndrome are raised at home with their parents instead of institutions (“Down syndrome life,” 2010).  It is better for them to be raised at home.  They are people and have feelings.  They should be included.  The reason that I am against institutions is because they are locked away from the world.  Just because they are shut out does not mean that they do not exist.  So let’s accept them in this world.

*

I want to know your opinions about Down syndrome.  I have had this blog for a little bit and have not gotten any opinions.  I also want to know any questions you may have.  Your questions will help me gain more knowledge about Down syndrome.  That is because you may have a question that I have never consider before.  Also please comment any information that you may have about Down syndrome.  I always want to know more and any person that visits this blog want to learn more about Down syndrome as well.  AS always thanks for taking the time to read this blog.

 

Website Used:

Down syndrome life expectancy – from conception on. (2010). Retrieved from

                http://www.cdadc.com/ds/downsyndromelifeexpectancy.htm

 

Leave a comment